Fishy Ad

June 23, 2009 at 6:26 pm (advertising, Design, Graphic Design, print media) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

AT&T ad What do decorative Koi fish and cell phones have in common?

On the surface not much, that’s what caught my eye about this ad for AT&T. The color language allows the Koi to pop from the background and be instantly recognized. The fish frame the phone nicely as if playfully moving it whilst floating in a blue-green pond. It is only on closer inspection that the viewer realizes that the Koi are in fact painted on a pair of hands and arms – a nice detail and tie-in to the phone’s use as a handheld product. The Japanese imagery with an American phone company help to sell the tagline “Best coverage worldwide.” It is simple yet impact full. I don’t use AT&T as my phone carrier, but their ad did get my attention – well done.

1 Comment

  1. Extra Fishy Ad « Where Is Bartleby? said,

    […] A special thanks to my friend, Dominique, who sent me more ads from AT&T in response to my last post. I especially like the Zimbabwe one with the cheetahs. This reinforces the clear, concise, and […]

Leave a Reply

